Planning application at 1 Marcel Avenue Coogee NSW 2034

Stephen Hill sent a message to Kiel Smith.

To
Kiel Smith
From
Stephen Hill
Subject
Planning application at 1 Marcel Avenue Coogee NSW 2034
Date
Aug. 23, 2017, 5:52 a.m.
Hello Kiel and all Randwick councillors, I would like to re-iterate the comments of Andrew. I am a resident of Marcel Ave and have been so for over 20 years. This proposal is a massive overdevelopment of the site and will be a huge blight on Marcel Ave. Besides all the breaches of the LEP (and there are numerous) this large bulky building will seriously impact the outlook of the neighbours, neighbourhood and dominate the space of the surrounding area. At a height of 12 metres, a flat roof, square shaped building, it will be an eyesore and by no means lies within the character of the street (but it is actually an avenue and therefore this sort of development should never be allowed). Number 3 Marcel Ave has a height restriction of 9 metres so how can this be achieved if the flat roof is not stepped down from the boundary between 1 and 3? The 12 metre height appears to be maintained across the entire frontage. The different lots should be treated separately at least.
The eastern end of Marcel Ave, including Moira Cres, is a Heritage Conservation Area (HCA) with Bungalow style buildings. This development should fall into this style of building with terracotta tiles on pitched roofs. The height of the building should be restricted to the same as per the other houses on this side of the street. It is beyond my comprehension how the current R3 zoning for 1-3 Marcel Ave was ever approved. It should be changed or restricted in some way.